Garncarska gate (Pottery) - ul. Piłsudskiego
The Pottery Gate, also called St. Spirit or Elbląg, was created within the framework of the defense system of the city of Malbork in the second half of the fourteenth century. It was one of the elements of the system that allowed communication with the city from the east. crossing from the 15th century, on a rectangular plan, with three oval clearances, five-storey, brick. A hip roof tile roof. The upper part of the gate is decorated with pointed-glass blends. It is located in the lane of the ramparts surrounding the Old Town. In the 1930s, a youth hostel was built inside. Partially damaged during the fighting in 1945. In 1955 the gate was rebuilt. The building now houses a jeweler's shop.
Brama Mariacka – Aleja Rodła
The Mariacka Gate, also called Sztumska, was created within the framework of the defense system of the city of Malbork in the second half of the fourteenth century under the great master Winrich von Kniprode. It was one of the elements of the system that allowed communication with the city from the south. In front of her was a moat, and in later years a forebear and a second line of walls were erected. At the beginning of the nineteenth century, the need to dismantle the medieval defense system was mentioned, and in 1807, the French occupying the city dismantled the ruins of the outer St. Mary's Gate, where the chapel once stood. February 7, 1838, the fire destroyed the roof of the gate. It was not reconstructed in the old form, and the crown was made up of a small, superstructure of a square superstructure, covered with a hippo roof. In the years 1936-1937 a new hip roof roof was built with a ceramic tile, designed by master builder Paul Dombert. In 1945 it was completely burned down and the walls crushed by missiles. During the reconstruction in 1964 did not include the superstructure and did not reconstruct the hip roof. For many years the gate has been unused. It was not until the 1970s that a café was built there, which required adaptive work inside the facility and the execution of the stairs on the outside. A devastating fire in the early eighties caused much damage inside the building, and also contributed to a significant weakening of the walls. Currently, there is a pub in the property.
Building of the Railway Station - ul. Dworcowa
The new station still in existence today was put into use in 1890. The building of the station was built in Neo-Gothic style, brick from brick vault, set on the plan of the elongated rectangle. Elevations in a rich architectural design, emphasized by the use of high quality veneer bricks, in some fragments of glazed brick. High roof, varied in construction and form, indoor ceramics, front side (south) with Dutch tiles, and on the side of the platforms with carp tiles. Building of the expedition from about 1900 brick, with a half-walled half-timbered building, brick building from about 1900 brick, attic wall with a half brick brickwork. Interesting example of railway architecture from the 19th century.
Former Middle Gymnasium - ul. 17 March 4
The Malbork Gymnasium, established in 1860, was originally located in the medieval building of the Latin School in the Old Town. A few years later, the building of the edifice of 17 Marca and Witos Street was commenced. It was completed in 1866. Its historic architecture with neo gothic decorative elements was used in Malbork as one of the first. In 1927 in the edifice was placed primary school St. John. In the early 1930s the western part of the building was built. Since 1937 there was Horst-Wessel-Schule, a primary school for boys. In 1945 the building suffered no major damage. After its reconstruction and adaptation, it was incorporated in 1946 by the Public Middle Vocational School, later renamed to the Vocational Training Complex No. 4. The building was adapted for the needs of the District Court.
Former Jerusalem Hospital - Al. Armii Krajowej 68
One of the most important sanitary facilities in medieval urban organisms was the hospitals. These names we can not understand today are literally not places for the treatment of sick people, and the institutions serving as shelter and places that today are called the homes of old age. They were maintained by the municipal authorities for the donations made by the potential residents of these places, as well as by the burghers, both the rich and the poor. They wanted to secure a place of quiet old age. These objects, as places of potential epidemiological threat, were outside the city walls. The preserved building of the Jerusalem Hospital is a 16th century building set on a rectangular, brick, partially plastered, two-storey building. A gable roof covered with a monk tiled roof - a nun. Tops with double-edged edges, topped with a knot, decorated with plaster friezes framed molded cornices. Rescue measures are currently being undertaken by the German association, which has specifically committed itself to this initiative. In the near future, the City Museum and the Polish-German Cooperation Center are planned here.
Chapel of the Baptist Christians Church - ul. Jagiellonska 105
Chapel of the Baptist Christian Church at ul. Jagiellonian No. 105 in Malbork was established in 1910 for the needs of the local community. It was erected in a historicistic style that is related to Gothic forms, with elements of modernism. Located in the eastern street of the street, at the intersection with Grunwaldzka street. Brick brick building in a cross thread, with small plastered parts (blends of peaks, window blends, plinth). Founded on a plan close to a rectangle with an annex to the annex, two-storey. High-rise building, gable roof. The chapel was built during the period of numerous monumental architectural monuments in the city, connected with the interest of Malbork due to the great renovation and conservation work carried out at the castle. An example of Neo-Gothic architecture with elements of modernism still has its original function.
Complex of barracks buildings - ul. March 17
Following the Prussian victory with the French in the fourth quarter of the 19th century, the German Reichstag was powered by a giant contribution. The authorities of the Reich allocate it to numerous investments related, among others, to defense. Also Malbork got his share of that money. This amount is dedicated to the construction of the so- "Red Barracks". The complex of neo-Gothic 152 Regimental Infantry units erected south of the old town team has survived the war of the Second World War and still has its original functions. Their interesting architecture is the attraction of this architectural team. Beautiful German tiles on sunny days beautifully shine in the sun.
Church p.w. Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Malbork - ul. Slowacki 76
The first mention of the church of Sts. George comes from 1403, when the great master gave him Easter candles. In the 70s of the 15th century, it was rebuilt almost from scratch after the destruction of the 13-year war. Already in 1526, the first evangelical sermon was delivered, and in 1598 the church was handed over exclusively to the Lutherans. It again suffered severely during the Swedish Deluge in 1658. The present church dates back to 1712-14. Outside the peak and the tower is a wooden building with a wooden ceiling imitating a brick vaulted ceilings. The interior of the three-nave hall was so equipped with benches and hallways to serve the evangelical service best. The first Polish service in the church took place in September 1945. On May 16, 1958 his call to the Virgin of Perpetual Help was changed. The Second World War did not do much damage to the historic bulk of the facility. We can admire here. The baptismal font and sculptured scene of the Passion (1687), created for the old church. The rest of the decor is later: the pulpit from the years 1713-14, and the main altar from about 1718. On the surrounding church, which is not existent cemetery buried, among others. Conservator of Konrad Steinbrecht Castle (1849-1923).
Church of Sts. John the Baptist - Old Town 22
In the Old Town of Malbork, since the end of the 13th century, the parish church of Sts. John the Baptist. Both in the Middle Ages and in recent times has been rebuilt several times. The present architectural form of the temple owes its construction campaign around 1468, when it was in ruins after the Thirteen Years' War. The crossing and construction of the new bell tower stretched into the twenties of the 16th century. In the 19th century, the church was built with small parish churches. Conservation work was carried out during the interwar period. Equipment and stained glass were mentioned. The most valuable movable monuments in the interior include the medieval sculpture of Sts. Elisabeth Turin and Neo-Gothic altar ensemble. Church of Sts. John was a Catholic temple throughout his history.
UPPER MILL Młyn Górny - ul. Konopnicka 36
Existing Gothic mill in Malbork. It was originally a city pub, originally confirmed in 1400. It has a brick construction, covered with ceramics. It is characterized by the size of the bricks and their weft for the gothic objects of the 15th century.
Remains of the medieval city walls
The city's defense system was built with the castle system. Originally it was a wooden-earth fortification, converted in the 14th century to brick masonry. In the second half of the fourteenth century, with the expansion of the area of the city, a new series of walls was built, which survived partly until the nineteenth century. In 1807, the French during the occupation of Malbork dismantled as completely unnecessary old Swedish fortifications as well as part of the medieval outer walls of the second line and the Gothic outer St. Mary's Gate with the chapel. In the years 1878-83 the further part of the medieval fortifications was diminished, the eastern moat was filled, creating a gentle slope connecting the Old Town with the former suburb of Sts. Ghost. New streets were laid out there: Szkolna (March 17) and Gimnazjalna (Witos). The wall system was partially destroyed during the fighting in 1945. The walls of the east and south walls have been permanently disappeared. In spite of the damage and alterations, the gates of the city of Garncarska and Mariacka were preserved, as well as two towers open to the side of the city, as well as a fragment of the walls.
Old Town Hall - Old Town 13
The medieval town hall is located in the eastern frontage of the Market Square. In its present shape it was erected in the 2nd half. Numerous reconstructions followed always after the destruction of the siege of the city and the castle, mainly in the 15th century. The witness of these construction activities is the late Gothic southern peak. For centuries, in the interiors of the town hall, communal ceremonies were held. In the nineteenth century, its façades were subjected to restoration work, and the destroyed fragments of the tracery decorations were supplemented. Another renovation, mainly of the roof part, was carried out after the fire in 1899. Mayor and city council stayed here until 1929, when the new Town Hall (now Town Hall) was put into operation. Then there was the German police. During World War II, the Town Hall was the place where Poles died - forced laborers sent to Żuławy Malborskie. On the wall of the Town Hall there is a plaque commemorating the activity of Poles from the organization "Young Forest" in the area of Powiśle, Warmia and Mazury from 1941 to 1945. The plaque was founded by the Association "Circle of Malbork Guides". Only here we can see the famous Malbork arcades. Today Town Hall is the seat of the Youth Cultural Center.
Latin School - Old Town
In the area of the Old Town, on the northern slope, built in the second half of the fourteenth century based on the retaining wall of the building. There is some original purpose of the object, perhaps it was the seat of the Society of St. George. It is known that since the second half of the 16th century there was a school, from 1603 called the School of Latin. In the first half of the 18th century, significant renovations were carried out in the building, and in 1758 it was extended to the east, covering the new roof. In 1866, the school moved to a newly built building on March 17th. In the premises data were created housing and storage warehouses. In 1899, during the city fire, the upper floors burned down. A year later the facility was rebuilt into a warehouse. Re-destroyed in 1945. The lower parts of the medieval walls were saved from the side of the Nogat. In the 1970s the rebuilding of the ruins began, but the adaptation was not completed.
City Hall - Pl. Słowiński 5
The most important of the city's investments in the interwar period was the erection of the New Town Hall (now the Town Hall) at Gdańsk Square (Slavonic Square). The cornerstone of the building was laid in 1927, and the building was completed and consecrated in 1929. The work was managed by Mollenhauer building councilor, and engineer Kurt Höppner was in charge of artistic supervision. In the building in addition to the municipality, its headquarters were the Public Library, City Savings Bank, School of Commerce and cafe. After World War II, the building was occupied by the Polish administration and is still the seat of the City Hall.
Water Tower - Pl. Słowiański 15
Water tower at Pl. The Slavonic in Malbork was built in 1905 with the foundation of a neo-gothic waterworks in the city. Brick brick, on a high, octagonal stone pedestal. The tower in the shape of a waltz dividing the corners of the base with narrow pilasters. Three-storey interior, one-storey stories with preserved and active water reservoir and circular staircase. The tower covered with a high octave roof with a flag and cut in it in 1905. It has a clock with a very interesting mechanism. Water tower building at Pl. Słowiański 15 in Malbork is an example of extremely interesting neo-gothic architecture, still functioning today.
Water Tower - ul. dworcowa
Waterworks water tower at ul. The railway station in Malbork was erected in 1901, without any stylish features. Detached, located between ul. Dworcowa and railway lines, near the road bridge on the route to Elbląg and buildings of the railway station Malbork Główny. Brick tower, plastered, built on the plan of a regular octagon with pillars on the corners. Solid three-storey tower; The body of the tower converges upwards, mounted on a high pedestal raised on a wheeled projection, with a high phase cornice, overhang head, wider, octagonal roof with low lantern skylight, ceramic cover. Interior of a single-space, three-storey tower, preserved water reservoir with spherically shaped bottom, metal coal stove and steel, twisting stairs.
Moving equipment of the Parish Church St. Joseph in Kałdowo - ul. Kościelna 5
Parish church St. Joseph in Kałdów was built at the turn of 1930/31 in Neo-Gothic style. After the war destroyed rebuilt in 1957/58, partly lost its stylish features. Completed were the moving equipment of the church, which for artistic reasons is a cultural good:
1. Main altar pr. St. Joseph regency of 1727, unknown author, polychrome wood, carved. Moved from the Gothic church in Spruce, originally. St. Bartholomew. Architectural, two-storey. Base for the contemporary altar, brick. Inside picture of St. Joseph, contemporary of 1961.
2. Image of Saint Baroque baroque, 1727 oil on canvas, in the top of the main altar. In the center of the composition, Barbary with attributes in the right hand sword, left in the hostess cup.
3. Pulp baroque, circa 1720, polychrome wood.
Post Office building complex - ul. Gdańsk Post and ul. March 17
Erected in the years 1891-1893. The neo-Gothic convention held in the German convention was one of the typical implementations of such objects in the German Reich. The perfect layout of the object made it always useful for the functions for which it was built. In 1945 the main building was completely destroyed, only burned walls were preserved. After the reconstruction and reconstruction of the roof to this day, the building fulfills the functions for which it was built. It consists of: main building, telecommunication building, garages and brick wall contemporary with a section of wall from the nineteenth century.
Urban bath and yacht marina
The swimming pool is open from 1 May to 30 September. It offers beaches, 3 beach and soccer ball courts, kayak and dragon boat boxes, yacht marina and water equipment rentals. In summer, apart from swimming, there are beach ball tournaments, kayaks and water bicycles, and a castle and gondola can be seen during the boat trip.
ul. Wileńska 1 (boulevards over Nogat)
+ 48 (055) 272-24-96
Sports and Recreation Center in Malbork
Tourist and Recreation Center, located in the park of the Nogat River, 800 meters from the town center and Malbork Castle. The resort is fenced, illuminated, guarded 24 hours, grassy and tree-lined. The Sports and Recreation Center in Malbork invites you to: Ice rink (in winter), Gondola, Tennis courts, Playground, Climbing wall, Sports hall
ul. Parkowa 3
tel./fax: +48 (055) 272-24-13
tel./fax: +48 (055) 272-30-12
Pl. G. Narutowicza 14
tel. +48 (055) 647-34-37
Open from 15:30 to 20:30
Period of service: from 15th April to 15th October
A newly built climbing wall of approx. 100 m2 is 11 m wide and its height ranges from 5.5 to 10.5 m. It can be used by all climbing enthusiasts who will be supervised by trained instructors.
In August every day from 10.00 to 22.00
From September (Monday - Friday) from 4 pm to 10 pm (Saturday - Sunday) from 10 am to 10 pm
ul. Mickiewicz 59, tel. (055) 247-65-00
Jumpy Park - rope park
Rope Park - France's best way to clean your spare time in a specially prepared area. Fun guaranteed for children and adults. No worries, everyone can try and enjoy without restriction while ensuring unforgettable impressions, effort and adrenaline. Most of our parks as well as ours are in the open air. It is built on solid trees on which are suspended wooden platforms connected to the route with steel ropes. In the park there are five routes with a total length of over 1150m. You can find obstacles on the route: bridges, footbridges, grids
Are the slopes obliquely oblique. Jumpy Park is one of the largest rope parks in Poland.
phone + 48 601-683-068
mobile phone + 48 603-691-272
ul. Konopnickiej 12 (near the garden center)
Open daily from 12:00 to 21:00
mobile phone +48 607-546-226
Żuławska Ceramic Village
The opening of Żuławska Ceramic Village is an additional tourist attraction of Malbork. The City Cultural Center invites organized groups, schools, colonies, tours and tourists to explore the village and to own a pottery wheel. Under the guidance of an instructor, you can familiarize yourself with the traditional methods of ceramic tiles and other fine clay items with the possibility of burning them in a ceramic oven. The village also has changing artisan points (sculpture, fabric, wicker).
From May 15 until June 30, it is open from 11:00 to 17:00 in July and August from 10:00 to 20:00.
ul. March 17, 42 b
tel. +48 (055) 273-49-87
mobile phone +48 601-841-249
This reliable vehicle, consisting of a locomotive and two carriages, runs along the streets of Malbork and in the vicinity of Malbork Castle from 1 June to 30 September 2010. from 9:00. This 20-minute ride will surely give you an unforgettable experience. START THE NEIGHBORS: ul. Starościńska (at the Museum of Castle Museum). Stop for all getting in and out. During the ride you will see from a completely different perspective: Malbork Castle, medieval monuments of the city, dancing fountain, miniature castle on a scale of 1:30, boulevards on the river Nogat and many other interesting places. The queue serves individual clients and organized groups.